Skip to main content

Waste management

The goal of waste management is to ensure a healthy and safe living environment for the residents. The Päijät-Häme waste board is the joint waste management authority of the municipalities. The waste board monitors the state of waste management and compliance with waste management legislation in the area of operation.
Waste management

The operational area of the Päijät-Häme waste board covers 10 municipalities: Asikkala, Heinola, Hollola, Kärkölä, Lahti, Myrskylä, Orimattila, Padasjoki, Pukkila and Sysmä.

The waste management authority's duties include:

  • issuing waste management regulations
  • exception decisions regarding waste management regulations
  • approving the waste tax
  • deciding on waste payments
  • collecting waste payments
  • deciding on waste transport systems
  •  monitoring waste transports
  • maintaining the waste transport registry
  • exception decisions regarding joining a communal waste management system

Contact information

Päijät-Häme waste board,, tel. +358 (0)44 416 4352

Postal address: Askonkatu 2, 15100 Lahti

Visiting address: Lahti-Piste service point, library, Kirkkokatu 31, 15140 Lahti

Joining a waste transport programme

Each real estate owner must make an agreement with a waste transport company.

Municipal waste processing and recovering duties and waste counselling are handled by Päijät-Hämeen Jätehuolto Oy.

Joining a waste transport programme tel. 03 871 1766